Bank History

The Columbus State Bank opened for business on August 19, 1919, with Mr. E.B. Mayes as president. Columbus State Bank was located on the corner of Milam and Walnut streets in the remodeled Boedecker building, which was originally constructed in 1857. The bank opened its doors with $50,000 in capital and received $5,398 in deposits on opening day. The present modern and expanded main banking facility remains at the same location as when Columbus State Bank was founded in 1919.

In 1980, construction began on the Columbus State Bank convenience-banking center. This building, located on the corner of Milam and Spring streets, was completed in 1981. The facility contains five drive-thru lanes, walk-up teller banking service windows, night depository features, and a convenient 24-hour ATM. The convenience center is designed to provide the customer with the very best retail banking service possible while the main bank building remains at its original location on the corner of Milam and Walnut streets.

Our People

The Columbus State Bank is operated by some of the nicest and most professional people!

 Officers and Employees

Charles Bittner – Chairman of the Board
Ronney D. Frank – Vice-Chairman of the Board
Clay Bittner – President
Keith Huskey – Vice President
Susan Trojacek – Vice President
Sara Everett – Vice President
Glenda Griffin – Vice President/Cashier
Codi Wessels – Vice President
Anna Shupak – Vice President
Joy Maertz – Assistant Cashier
Jennifer Pryor – Assistant Cashier
Dena Berger – Customer Services
Denise Pawlik – Customer Services
Ashley Poncik – Customer Services

Laura Weido – Customer Services


Charles Bittner – Chairman of the Board
Ronney Frank, Vice-Chairman of the Board
Robert H. Henneke
Earl W. Pitchford
Jerome Dvorak
Andrew Schobel
Clay Bittner
Sandra Berger
Michael Trefny

Statement of Condition

Statement of Condition Last Updated: January 18, 2024

Our Community

Columbus Chamber of Commerce

Website for the Columbus Area Chamber of Commerce featuring a bulletin board, community links and a list of members.


Lower Colorado River Authority web page with very good information on parks, recreation, natural resources, energy, water, community development, and much more.

Columbus ISD

Link to the Columbus Independent School District web page.

St. Anthony’s Catholic School

Website for information on grades Pre-K through 8th, current events, a homework hotline, and more.

Columbus Community Hospital